USDA’s AC21 advisory committee revamped

FDAMeetingUSDA’s Advisory Committee on Biotechnology and 21st Century Agriculture (AC21) met December 14 and 15 with a new charter and charge to develop a set of recommendations before next year’s election for joint co-existence plans among different agricultural production systems supported and incentivized at the state and local level.  It also is charged with providing recommendations on how USDA can facilitate this. The committee is scheduled to meet three more times before the end of the current Administration. The 22 advisory committee members include OTA’s Executive Director/CEO Laura Batcha, and OTA members Lynn Clarkson of Clarkson Grain Company, Michael Funk of UNFI, Melissa Hughes of CROPP Cooperative/Organic Valley and OTA’s Board President, and Mary-Howell Martens of Lakeview Organic Grain LLC. Can ac21 be moved to government affairs.

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply